An Opener

I’m a Canadian artist who began painting in 1978 after a brief introduction to oils by my uncle and life long friend. In those early years, landscapes captured my imagination and dominated the canvas where I painted with oils on a variety of surfaces. For the most part I am a self taught artist, although I have studied and experimented with the varied styles and influences of other artists.

In 1993, I devoted all my time to my family and profession and did not paint for twelve years. In 2005, with a renewed passion for art, I began experimenting with acrylics, watercolours, and began sketching with charcoal and painting acrylic portraits. I have also rediscovered, in a somewhat freer format, the themes, wildlife, and beautiful countryside that surround me. Most of my work is now done in oils on canvas.

In the last year or so I have been attempting to integrate my Christian spiritual experiences onto the canvas. This has been a journey of many surprises and continues to be a source of enlightenment for me personally.

Of course as an artist I experiment in many different genres including writing, poetry, and commentary on a variety of issues. Life is a journey, and like the changing scenery I hope to add to these pages diversity of thought and reflection.

One thought on “An Opener

Leave a Reply

