A Frog & His Boy 2015

A Frog & His Boy ~ 2015

22 thoughts on “A Frog & His Boy ~ 2015

    • Thanks Sherry. I love frogs too but not as much as Josh (holding frog). He went right into the swamp, risking life and limb, and came out with the prize. All I got was this photo, lol!
      ~ Dave

  1. I’d like to think it’s she, like a Princess-frog (or toad) from a fairy-tale but I’m not a zoologist : ) They say: “The body plan of an adult frog is generally characterized by a stout body, protruding eyes, cleft tongue, limbs folded underneath, and the absence of a tail in adults. Besides living in fresh water and on dry land, the adults of some species are adapted for living underground or in trees. The skin of the frog is glandular, with secretions ranging from distasteful to toxic. Warty species of frog tend to be called toads but the distinction between frogs and toads is based on informal naming conventions concentrating on the warts rather than taxonomy or evolutionary history; some toads are more closely related to frogs than to other toads. Frogs’ skins vary in colour from well-camouflaged dappled brown, grey and green to vivid patterns of bright red or yellow and black to advertise toxicity and warn off predators.”

    Lucky catch. : )

    • Thanks Yuriy…you’re way more up on frogs/toads than I am…but I find them fascinating nonetheless. I had a Jack Russell years ago that used to lick toads, his eyes would glaze over and then he would go and stagger across the lawn…but he seemed to like it!
      It could have been a female frog…I should have got Josh to kiss it. Maybe he would have found his fairy princess, lol!!
      Anyway, thanks Yuriy for the information and comments…I appreciate them very much. ~ Dave

    • Thanks Noelle.
      It seems to me that bullfrog catchers are extremely passionate about their craft. I’ve seen Josh plunge head first into a pond with no regard to his life in order to get the prize! I’m not sure that you’re that crazy, but you have my highest respect, and I mean that. 🙂
      ~ Dave

  2. Thank you, the trick is to come up behind them. They can’t see behind them very well. So if you draw your hand level with the water coming from behind them they never see you coming. It is a craft that takes immense patience, quiet, stillness and skill. Sort of funny, but writing that out I realize I was meditating when I was eight years old!!

    • That’s great…I love it! Thanks for the hints and I’ll pass them along to Josh…although it won’t be nearly as much fun watching him try the belly flop, “shock & awe” method, lol! Thanks again ~ Dave

  3. That must have been some experience. Lol. The closest I’ve ever gotten to one was when I almost stepped on it and it jumped way high. It was about 2 inch in diameter. Great photo. Next time hit record so you can share the ” shock and awe”. Funnny!!

    • Thanks Pat…that’s hilarious. I won’t tell you about my sister-in-law when one of her kids was trying to show her a frog about 2″ in diameter…she was yelling every possible combination of the names of all her children just before she threw herself off the veranda (only a foot high) and did some commando rolls across the lawn. I wish I recorded that one…still makes me laugh when I think about it.
      Have a great day & thanks again. ~ Dave

Leave a Reply

